URMIA Announces 2022 Award Recipients


Learn who received URMIA’s awards and gratitude for service to the organization.

Eleven Members Honored in 2022

The 2022 Annual Conference provided a number of opportunities to learn, network, share, and celebrate. URMIA recognized several awardees for their contributions not only to URMIA as an association, but to the profession of higher education risk management.

The following were awarded some of URMIA’s highest honors last month:

Distinguished Risk Manager Award

Signifying the profound respect of one’s peers in higher education risk management, the Distinguished Risk Manager Award was given to Chauncey Fagler, executive director and chief risk officer of the Florida College System Risk Management Consortium, and Luke Figora, vice president of operations at Northwestern University, in 2022.

Larry V. Stephens Lifetime Achievement Award

Gary Langsdale was awarded the Larry V. Stephens Lifetime Achievement Award which is only the second time the organization has given the award since its inception – the first time being to its namesake. Langsdale was recognized for his contributions to URMIA throughout his years of involvement in the organization as a volunteer, member, member of the board of directors, president, mentor, colleague, and staff member. Numerous URMIAns cited examples of how he was always willing to help fellow risk managers with advice, examples, ideas, and information over the years.

Outstanding Service Recognition Award

The organization honored John McLaughlin for his contributions as the senior managing director of higher education practice at Gallagher before he retired in the first half of 2022. The award is given to affiliate members nearing the end of a full career of not less than 20 years providing notable service to the higher education risk management and insurance industry.

Emeritus Award

URMIA named five retiree members as recipients of this year’s Emeritus Award. Allan Brooks, retired from Chapman University; Christine Eick, retired from Auburn University; Mike Histed, retired from the University of Ottawa; Steve Holland, retired from the University of Arizona; and Donna Pearcy, retired from Arizona State University, each received the 2022 Emeritus Award. This award honors institutional members who have played a significant role in URMIA and the profession of higher education risk management upon their retirement.

Excellence in Volunteering Award

Amy Daley, with FM Global, and Marjorie Lemmon, with Yale University, were named the first two recipients of the organization’s Excellence in Volunteering Award. Created in 2021, the award honors members who go significantly “above and beyond” to promote the organization’s mission, vision, and values; contribute to its advancement; and lead its members from within.


By URMIA National Office

Insights Home
1 comment


10-27-2022 08:12 AM

Congratulations to you all, you are what makes URMIA what it is, thanks for all you've done and continue doing to keep our community vibrant!