Emeritus Award

Deadline 5/15/18


URMIA honors individuals upon their retirement who have played a significant role in URMIA and higher education risk management as a profession. Those who are awarded this honor will be recognized at a luncheon during the upcoming Annual Conference. Their conference registration fee will be reduced, and they will be offered up to $500 to help cover travel and other conference costs. In addition, Emeritus Award winners receive a free lifetime URMIA membership.

Selection Criteria

Each candidate must be nominated by at least three URMIA members.

Other criteria include:

  • Nominees must be retired by the start of the Annual Conference. Specifically, nominees may not be currently employed in the field of risk management as a practitioner, consultant or service provider, nor may they be employed in another job in higher education.
  • Nominees must have provided exemplary service to URMIA. This may be demonstrated by service as a director or officer of URMIA, and/or by receipt of the Distinguished Risk Manager Award.
  • Nominees must have contributed significantly to higher education risk management as demonstrated by specific contributions to the understanding and practice of risk management.

Nominate / Apply

Nominations received after the deadline will be considered for the following year.


Jenny Whittington, Executive Director

812-727-7124 | Contact Jenny